PROGRAM – 59th ASMR National Scientific Conference 2020

November 18, 2020

8:30am Registration open
8:55am to 9:00am Welcome
Dr Erin McGillick, Dr Kiri Beilby Co-convenors.  Welcome to Country and welcome address
9:00am to 10:0am Plenary: Firkin Oration Professor Kanta Subbarao  (Chair: A/Prof Christoph Hagemeyer)
10:00am to 11:00am Session #1 – Translational Research (Chairs: Prof Vera Ignjatovic & Dr Ina Rudloff)
11:00am to 11:30am Diversity, Inclusion and Allyship in Health and Medical Research presented in partnership with QueersInScience in recognition of LGBT+ STEM Day 

(Session co-hosted by Dr Erin McGillick & Queers in Science)

11:30am to 11:45 Morning tea
11:45am to 1:00pm PD#1 Building Psychological Capital For A Resilient Future in Medical Research
Building  high levels of psychological capital incorporating the principles of Hope, Efficacy, Resilience and Optimism.
1:00pm to 2pm Lunch Break
2:00pm to 2:30pm Plenary: Health Science Policy: behind the lens Professor Euan Wallace AM  (Chair: Dr Daniel Johnstone)
2:30pm to 3:45pm Session #2 – Basic Science (Chairs: Dr Gautam Rishi & Dr Karen Alt)
3:45pm to 4:00pm Afternoon tea
4:00pm to 5:00pm Session #3 – Clinical Research (Chairs: Dr Kevin Keane & Conor McCafferty)
5:00pm End of Day 1


November 19, 2020

8:55am to 9:00am Introduction/Welcome –  Dr Erin McGillick & Dr Kiri Beilby
9:00 am to 10:00am Plenary: Edwards Oration
Dr James Muecke AM, Ophthalmologist, Australian of the Year 2020, Founder of Vision for All (Chair: Dr Ryan Davis)
10:00am to 11:15am Session #4 – Basic Science (Chairs: Dr Daniel Johnstone & Dr Karen Alt)
11:15am to 11:30am Morning tea/ASMR Research Fund
11:30am to 1:00pm PD# 2 : Science Communication
Communicators translate valuable research into meaningful stories to connect with a public suffering information fatigue. This workshop will ask participants: What is your origin story? What first made you care about the research you do? (Chair: Dr Lila Landowski)

1:00pm to 2:00pm
Lunch break and ASMR AGM (virtual)
2:00pm to 2:30pm Plenary: ASMR Peter Doherty Leading Light Award (Chair: A/Prof Tony Kenna)
The Award Winner will be announced by Professor Peter Doherty
This Award is sponsored by the Doherty Institute
2:30pm to 3:15pm Session # 5 – Innovation in biomedical research and Public Health (Chairs: Prof Mark Hulett and Dr Ina Rudloff)
3:15pm to 3:30pm Afternoon tea
3:30pm to 4:30pm PD# 3 – Advocacy (Chair: Dr Ryan Davis)
4:30pm to 4:45pm
Awards and Close of Meeting
4:45 pm Conference end

Download Conference Program

Download Conference Program Outline

 The ASMR extends thanks and congratulations to our NSC Organisers in 2020