

CAMPION – MA – PLAYOUST MEMORIAL AWARD - \$1000.00

Background

The **Campion Ma Playoust Memorial Award** was instituted by a motion of the Annual General Meeting of the Society in December 1975. It is presented for the best contribution for an oral and/or poster presentation at the National Scientific Conference by a *student member* or a *member under thirty years of age* at the time of the Conference.



Marc Playoust was President of ASMR in 1967. He was tragically killed in a road accident after the 1972 National Scientific Conference, held in Adelaide. Marc had an enviable academic and scientific record as well as being engaged in politics and philosophy. He had been a source of great strength to the Society, serving on the Board of Directors from 1964-1968. He was Treasurer from 1965 until taking on the Presidency in 1967.

Marc Playoust made a vital contribution to ASMR as one of the principle forces behind the structuring of the constitution and the financial viability of the Society. At the time of his death Marc was 37 years old and had just completed theologicial training to be ordained a priest.

In 1973, a swimming accident at the Surfers Paradise NSC claimed the lives of two young members, Clair Campion of Adelaide and Marcus Ma from Sydney. Marcus was at the time, Honorary Secretary of the Society. Both young people were well known and respected

In remembering the history of the award, Professor John Funder (ASMR president, 1979) recalls:

"The ASMR meeting in December 1973 was at Surfers Paradise, and was one of the most emotionally charged meetings I have ever been to. Memories were fresh of the death of Marc Playoust, a former ASMR President who while returning to Sydney from a meeting interstate was killed in a horrific car accident, and the Society instituted the Playoust Award in his memory.

At the Surfers Paradise meeting, after dinner one evening, a group decided to go swimming, and the sandbar on which they were standing gave way: two of their number, Claire Campion and Marcus Ma, did not return. Claire was a young investigator, a candidate for the Playoust Award: in honour of the two members whose lives were cut short at Surfers, the Award became the Campion Ma Playoust Memorial Award shortly thereafter."

Winners of the CMP Memorial Award

- 1977 Felicity Wilson (Vic)
- 1978 Julie Owens (Qld)
- 1979 Wayne Tilley (SA)
- 1980 Margaret Morris (Vic)
- 1981 Elizabeth Sher (Vic)
- 1982 Peta Jervois (SA)
- 1983 Patricia Chick (Vic)
- 1984 Dennis Feeney (NSW)
- 1985 Ian Darby (Vic)
- 1986 Damian Myers (Vic)
- 1987 Elizabeth Musgrove (NSW) Anne-Marie Bordun (Vic)
- 1988 Ian Kwoh-Gain (Qld)
- 1989 Christopher Ormandy (NSW)
- 1990 Dean Moss (Qld)
- 1991 Sarah Robertson (SA)
- 1992 Karen McKay (NSW)
- 1993 Qizhong Song (Qld)
- 1994 Paul Baldock (SA)
- 1995 Helen Venetsanokos (SA)
- 1996 Rosemary Santangelo (NSW)
- 1997 Matthew Bidgood (NSW)
- 1998 Laura Issa (NSW)
- 1999 Nicholas Shackel (NSW)

- 2000 Mark Biondo (Vic)
- 2001 Aiden Marshall (Vic)
- 2002 Mark Chong (Vic)
- 2003 Peter van Wijngaarden (SA)
- 2004 Charlotte East (Vic)
- 2005 Heidi Hilton (NSW
- 2006 Emma Lee (Vic)
- 2007 Christine Perry (Qld)
- 2008 Clare Berry (WA)
- 2009 Jerome Staal (Tas)
- 2010 Fatima El-Assaad (NSW)
- 2011 India Bohanna (Qld)
- 2012 Joanna Rakoczy (Qld)
- 2013 Myles Minter (Vic) Samantha Solon-Biet (NSW)
- 2014 Brooke Pereira (Vic)
- 2015 Hannah Wardill (SA)
- 2016 Joshua Horne-Debets (Qld)
- 2017 Anouschka Ackerman (NSW)
- 2018 Lisa Cherian (SA)
- 2019 Lelinh Duong (WA)
- 2020 Nazanin Karimnia (VIC
- 2021 Jack Chan (VIC)
- 2022 Ella Swaney (VIC)